Advisory Council Welcomes New Members for 2014; Chair, Vice Chair Selected

FHLBI has named two new members to the Affordable Housing Advisory Council:

Stephanie Tenbarge – Executive Director of ECHO Housing Corp. in Evansville, IN

Under Tenbarge’s leadership, ECHO has developed and operated Lucas Place, 20 units of transitional housing for homeless families, and Lucas Place II, 20 units of permanent supportive housing for homeless disabled veterans. Both projects received FHLBI Affordable Housing Program grants. Tenbarge is active in local organizations, including the Chamber of Commerce and Coalition of Inner City Neighborhoods.

Vincent Tilford – Executive Director, Habitat for Humanity Detroit

Since 2007, Tilford has led the Detroit chapter of Habitat for Humanity, which has built or rehabilitated nearly 100 homes. His extensive background in affordable housing and community development includes service as president of the Arkansas Development Finance Authority and senior program director for the Local Initiatives Support Corp. in Detroit.

Additionally, FHLBI's Affordable Housing Advisory Council selected Sherry Seiwert to chair the group in 2014. Seiwert, president of Indianapolis Downtown, Inc., served as vice chair in 2013 and has been a member of the Council since 2012. Serving as 2014 vice chair is Jamie Schriner-Hooper, Executive Director of the Community Economic Development Association of Michigan (CEDAM). She has been a member of the Council since 2011.

The Council is comprised of 12 housing and community development leaders in Michigan and Indiana who are actively involved in providing or promoting low- and moderate-income housing or community lending. The Council collaborates with the FHLBI’s Board of Directors and staff to find ways for the FHLBI to carry out its housing finance and community investment mission.