Joining the FHLBank Indianapolis Board of Directors

The FHLBank Indianapolis Board of Directors is comprised of both Member Directors and Independent Directors. The Director of the Federal Housing Finance Agency determines the size and composition of the Board. Independent Directors must make up at least 40 percent of the Board’s membership. Director eligibility requirements are found in 12 C.F.R. § 1261.5. 

Member Director candidates are nominated by FHLBank Indianapolis Members and are elected on a state-by-state basis. An individual who accepts a nomination must complete a Member Director Eligibility Certification Form.

Starting with the 2020 election, persons making member director nominations will be required to demonstrate their authority to submit a nomination on behalf of the member. Nominations will not be accepted without evidence of authority. A form resolution which may be adopted by a member board of directors is available here: Form of Nominating Resolution (Word Doc).

For the 2020 election, the nomination period runs from June 19, 2020, through 5 p.m. (ET) on July 27, 2020.

Independent Directors are elected at large by all FHLBank Indianapolis Members. Candidates are not nominated by Members; instead, individuals who would like to be considered for candidacy should deliver a completed Independent Director Application Form by U.S. mail or courier to the following address:

Federal Home Loan Bank of Indianapolis
Attention: Corporate Secretary
8250 Woodfield Crossing Boulevard
Indianapolis, Indiana 46240

For the 2020 election, Independent Director application forms received by FHLBank Indianapolis by 5 p.m. (ET) on July 27, 2020, will be eligible for consideration.

Background checks will be performed on all Member Director and Independent Director candidates.