Community Spirit Award

Honoring outstanding individuals that have shown great commitment to their communities.

Celebrating dedication to community

The Community Spirit Award honors an outstanding individual at one of our member institutions in Indiana and Michigan who has shown a commitment to affordable housing and community development. These individuals are advocates for their communities and have used FHLBank Indianapolis programs to improve the lives of those around them. In addition to the recognition, FHLBank Indianapolis makes a donation in the recipient's honor to a nonprofit organization or charity of their choice.

Nominate Someone for the Community Spirit Awards
Do you know a champion in your community? You can help us recognize their dedication to supporting their communities and increasing the availability of affordable housing by nominating them for this award. To qualify for the Community Spirit Award, nominees must be employed by a chartered FHLBank Indianapolis member financial institution.

Information for the 2023 Community Spirit Award will be posted at a later date.

Please feel free to contact the Community Investment Department with any questions by calling 800-688-6697 or by email at

Submit an application See past recipients

2022 Spirit Award Winners

Michigan Spirit Award winner, Celeste SpiveyCeleste Spivey

ChoiceOne Bank Vice President, Community Development and Community Reinvestment Act (CRA) Officer
Sparta, Mich.

2022 Community Spirit Award Winner, Michigan

Celeste Spivey, Vice President, Community Development and Community Reinvestment Act (CRA) Officer at ChoiceOne Bank, received the FHLBank Indianapolis 2022 Community Spirit Award for Michigan. She is responsible for developing, implementing and administering all aspects of the bank’s Community Reinvestment Act (CRA) programs while establishing and maintaining relationships with community-based, charitable and non-profit organizations. For the past five years, Spivey has worked with FHLBank Indianapolis to secure hundreds of thousands of dollars for down payment assistance and home repair grants for residents across western and central Michigan, including through the Bank’s Homeownership Opportunities Program (HOP).

Indiana Spirit Award winner, Becca MurphyBecca Murphy

Merchants Bank of Indiana Vice President of Affordable Lending
Carmel, Ind.

2022 Community Spirit Award Winner, Indiana

Becca Murphy, Vice President of Affordable Lending at Merchants Bank of Indiana in Carmel, Ind., received the 2022 Community Spirit Award for Indiana. With more than 35 years of experience serving low- to moderate-income residents in Indianapolis, Murphy has been an ardent advocate and supporter in helping area residents achieve financial well-being. In her role as Vice President of Affordable Lending at Merchants Bank, Murphy has grown the organization’s Community Reinvestment Act (CRA) loan portfolio exponentially, and she has been a key driver for sourcing candidates for the Homeownership Opportunities Program (HOP) and the Neighborhood Improvement Program (NIP) through FHLBank Indianapolis. In 2022 alone, Murphy helped secure nearly $150,000 in down payment assistance and critical home repair support for multiple residents in Indiana through the FHLBank Indianapolis programs.